Cantus Ansambl

Samobor Music Festival & Cantus Ensemble

Since 2006, the Cantus Ensemble has been the resident ensemble of the Ferdo Livadić International Competition for young Musicians organized by the Samobor Music Autumn Festival.
The competition has spawned a number of winners, all excellent young musicians – some of which became the leading artists world-wide – who are currently actively creating new paths to interpreting classical and contemporary music. The Samobor Music Autumn also actively promotes Croatian composers by annually commissioning a new piece for the competition winner to be performed accompanied by the Cantus Ensemble. The first performance and the concert of the previous year’s winner is held as part of the evening the winners of the current competition are announced.  The Cantus Ensemble also repeats this performance as part of their own music cycle and thus provides those young musicians with an opportunity to present themselves to the Zagreb audience. In this manner, the Samobor Music Autumn has initiated an entire network of communication, production and reproduction everyone is a part of – from young music talents, professional ensemble, composer, publisher, and, most importantly, the audience.
Petrit Çeku, guitar – the winner of the 2005 Competition; Vjekoslav Nježić, Koha për kangë (performed in 2006)
Zrnika Ivančić, piano – the winner of the 2006 Competition; Frano Đurović, Fantasia (performed in 2007)
Dunja Bontek, violin – the winner of the 2008 Competition; Olja Jelaska, Morning at Sea (performed in 2009)
Srđan Bulat, guitar – the winner of the 2009 Competition; Željko Brkanović, Concerto for guitar, strings and percussion (performed in 2010)
Klang Ensemble – the winner of the 2010 Competition; Berislav Šipuš, …un viaggio verso le luci di Amaraath, la stella del ritorno…, for two piano, percussion and chamber ensemble (performed in 2011)
Ivan Šverko, accordion – the winner of the 2011 Competition; Mladen Tarbuk, Estancias (performed in 2012)
Tanja Sonc, violin – the winner of the 2013 Competition; Anđelko Klobučar, Etude, for violin solo and string quintet (performed in 2013)
Franjo Bilić, harpsichord – the winner of the 2015 Competition; Dalibor Bukvić, Barock is not dead (performed in 2016)
Ardemus, saxophone quartet – the winner of the 2016 Competition; Davorin Kempf, In modo classico, for saxophone quartet and piano sextet (performed in 2017)
Ivan Vihor, piano – the winner of the 2017 Competition; Zoran Juranić, Ciaccona concertante, for piano and chamber ensemble (performed 2018)
Katarina Kutnar, violin – the winner of the 2018 Competition; Davor Bobić, new piece for violin and chamber ensemble (scheduled performance date: October the 1st 2019)


Cantus Ansambl   |
T: +385(0)1 4872-370, 4872-369   |   F: +385(0)1 4872-372

HDS, Berislavićeva 9, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Concert cycle Cantus Ansambl is supported by City of Zagreb and international activities by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia.