Cantus Ansambl

Cantus Ensemble again in Lisinski on 17 December

The second Cantus Ensemble concert, SOLO-TUTTI, is to take place on Saturday, 17 December 2022, in the Small Hall of Vatroslav Lisinski, starting at 8 PM.

Conducted by Berislav Šipuš, Cantus Ensemble will deliver three compositions of Croatian authors, of which two are to be first performances, as well as two pieces by foreign authors.

Paul Hindemith's chamber music is a modern classic: the eight chamber pieces from the 1920s via which Hindemith has redefined what (more) chamber music means for the century of New music. Accompanied by the soloist Tea Kulaš, the ensemble is to perform a three-movement Chamber Music No. 7, which is, in fact, a concert for organ and chamber orchestra.

Kulaš will later perform a brand new piece for organ solo, "OrganMusicBook," written by the youngest author of the program, composer, and pedagogue Danijel Legin. He won the Stjepan Šulek Award, and the Rudolf and Margita Matz Scholarship, alongside numerous other grants and commissions. Legin is also known for his scores publications.

The second first performance of a domestic author will be a composition by Boris Jakopović, "Stage Dimmed," for the chamber ensemble. Jakopović studied composition in Kyiv and has recently obtained a doctoral degree in biomedicine from the University of Rijeka. At the last edition of MBZ, he had introduced himself with the composition entitled "Alliages II" - performed by Vid Veljak - which was shortlisted for the Josip Štolcer Slavenski Award.

The Italian cellist and conductor Enrico Dindo, a student of the great Antonio Janigro, is most known to Croatian audiences as the former chief conductor of the Symphonic Orchestra of HRT. He is to partake in the Cantus cycle with two performances. Firstly, with one of the three Sonatinas written in 2019 by the Italian composer Fabio Vacchi, whose pieces Jean-Jacquez Nattiez called "eloquently dramatic."

During the delivery of Berislav Šipuš's piece named "Ad te.. ", Dindo will be joined by string players in a 2010 concertino that intertwines soloists and the ensemble, a piece for which Šipuš got the annual award for music by HAZU's (The Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts) in 2011. The rationale of the award states that the composition is characterized by "postimpressionism, with a full dosage of Bartokesque micro polyphonic techniques and colorful harmonic idiom of Olivier Messiaen," adding that it possesses the "tastefully unpredictable passing of time."

The Cantus Ensemble concerts are performed with the support of the Zagreb City Office for Culture, International Relations, and Civil Society. The Ministry of Culture and Media of the Republic of Croatia endorses the international concert activity. The ticket price for the Cantus Ensemble concerts is 40 HRK, and they are available via


Cantus Ansambl   |
T: +385(0)1 4872-370, 4872-369   |   F: +385(0)1 4872-372

HDS, Berislavićeva 9, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Concert cycle Cantus Ansambl is supported by City of Zagreb and international activities by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia.