Cantus Ansambl
Cantus cycle

The Cantus Ensemble Concert Cycle

The Cantus Ensemble Concert Cycle  


The Cantus Ensemble Concert Cycle 2022/2023 
Decembre 17th 2022, Saturday, Small hall -  Vatroslav Lisinski Concert Hall, 8 pm
Attention - change of program
Berislav Šipuš, conductor
Enrico Dindo, cello
Vedran Kocelj, trumpet
Fabio Vacchi, Sonatina III for cello solo 
Srđan Dedić, Seven Trumpets, for trumpet solo
Danijel Legin, Capriccio, for wind quintet
Berislav Šipuš, Ad te, concertino for cello and ensemble 
Boris Jakopović, Stage dimmed, for chamber ensemble, first performance

The first performance by a local author will be a composition by Boris Jakopović (1980), who studied composition in Kiev, and recently received his doctorate in biomedicine in Rijeka. At the last MBZ (Music Biennial Zagreb), he was represented by the composition Alliages II performed by Vid Veljak, with which he was shortlisted for the "Josip Štolcer Slavenski" award.

The Italian cellist and conductor Enrico Dindo, a student of the great Antonio Janigro, is best known to the Croatian audience as the former chief conductor of the HRT Symphony Orchestra, and he is a guest in this Cantus cycle with two performances: first, a performance of one of the three Sonatinas written in 2019 by the Italian composer Fabio Vacchi ( Bologna, 1949), whose works were described by Jean-Jacquez Nattiez as "eloquently dramatic."

In the work Ad te.. by Berislav Šipus, Dindo will be joined by other string players in the concertino from 2010, an interweaving of soloists and an ensemble, for which Šipus received the annual HAZU (Croatian Academy of Arts and Sciences) prize in the field of musical art in 2011. The explanation for the award states that the composition is characterized by "post-impressionism, with a complete dosage of Bartok's techniques of micropolyphony and Oliver Messiaen's idiom of coloristic harmony", as well as "a deliciously unpredictable flow of time".

Tickets are available on


Cantus Ansambl   |
T: +385(0)1 4872-370, 4872-369   |   F: +385(0)1 4872-372

HDS, Berislavićeva 9, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Concert cycle Cantus Ansambl is supported by City of Zagreb and international activities by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia.

Cantus Ansambl