Cantus cycle

Cantus Ensemble Concert Cycle

Cantus Ensemble Concert Cycle  

Ivan Josip Skender, conductor
Danijel Martinović, bass clarinet  

Milko Kelemen, Entrances, wood wind quintet  
Bernhard Eder, Membranen, first performance
Olga Neuwirth, Spleen, for bass clarinet         
Georg Friedrich Haas, ... aus freier Lust ... verbunden ..., for seven instruments
Josip Prajz, Aluzije linearnosti, first perfomans (mentor prof. Srećko Bradić)    


Hrvatski glazbeni zavod (Gundulićeva 6), 8 pm


The program dedicated to contemporary Austrian music, conducted by Ivan Josip Skender, includes works by three Austrian contemporary composers. Among these is Olga Neuwirth, one of the world’s leading composers, who has built her reputation on large forms, such as the opera Lost Highway, based on David Lynch’s movie, and Orlando, the first opera piece the Vienna Court Opera commissioned from a female composer in 2019 for the first time in its long and rich history.
At the concert of the Cantus Ensemble, she will present a smaller piece, the composition Spleen for bass clarinet solo, performed by the Ensemble’s permanent member, clarinetist Danijel Martinović. The Ensemble will also present a chamber piece ... aus freier Lust ... verbunden ... by another member of the composing school from a nearby Graz, Georg Friedrich Haas. Haas, known for characteristic minimalism and the mysticism of musical language, has established himself as one of the most performed composers in the world.



Cantus Ansambl
kontakt@cantus-ansambl.hr   |   www.hds.hr
T: +385(0)1 4872-370, 4872-369   |   F: +385(0)1 4872-372

HDS, Berislavićeva 9, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia

Concert cycle Cantus@Lauba is supported by City of Zagreb and international activities by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia.

Cantus Ansambl